top of page
IMG_5593.jpeg

SEASONAL GATHERINGS

ROOT INTO THE GENERATIVE SOIL OF EARTH CULTURE

Honor the cycles of nature which include birth / death, creation / destruction, growth / decay

 

Be with the tenderness that comes with being a part of the ebb & flow of change

Bow to that which is emerging, evolving and expiring

Online seasonal gatherings weave together elements of eco-somatics, mindfulness, creative and/or reflective journaling, movement, sound, nature connection, and sharing.

WHEN: Every eight weeks on quarter days and cross-quarter days

TIME: 8pm AST  //  7pm EST  //  5pm MST  //  4pm PST

WHERE: Zoom

WHY ATTUNE WITH THE SEASONS?

Under industrial growth society, we follow the concept of linear time which commodifies experience as something to accumulate. Time's passage is marked by hallmark holidays which serve to maintain consumption patterns that are pillaging the planet. They provide the masses with a  false sense of belonging yet ultimately keep us in cycles of dysregulation and addiction.

However in the past, when our ancestors lived more communally and in closer relationship to nature, time was perceived as cyclical. People recognized the inherent ebb and flow of life because they participated intimately in the dance of the seasons through agriculture. Cycles of change (life/death/rebirth) were honored, informed their behaviors, and supported the people to live in harmony with the land.

 

Attuning with the seasons supports us to divest from consumer culture and invest in earth culture by rooting into ancient nature-based practices that Indigenous and folk cultures from around the world have been practicing since time immemorial. Seasonal gatherings intimately connect us to to the places we call home by providing us with meaningful anchors we can return to and rely on for the kind of soul sustenance many of us deeply long for.

 

Our seasonal gatherings follow Nature's Arc of Change - a calendar focused on the cyclical journey of the seasons along the zodiacal path.  Seasonal changes were very important to our agricultural ancestors, who looked to the seasons to inform them when to plow, sow, harvest, and rest.  We experience the turning of time through cycles of birth, growth, and death which are found everywhere in nature.  These themes are at the heart of our gatherings.

 

Nature's Arc of Change is divided into eight phases, representing an annual cycle of eight festivals which include:  

SOLAR FESTIVALS

  • Winter Solstice 

  •  Spring Equinox 

  • Summer Solstice  

  •  Autumn Equinox 

FIRE FESTIVALS (Celtic)

  • Samhain (sow-win) / Winter

  • Imbolc (im-ulk) / Spring

  • Bealtaine (byel-tin-uh) / Summer

  • Lughnasa (loo-nuh-suh) / Autumn

Image by JOHN TOWNER

"The rhythms of nature underlie all human interaction. When these human forces betray the natural psychic pulse, people and societies get sick, nature is exploited and entire species are threatened." - Howard Clinebell 

bottom of page